MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING (HYBRID) OF WICKLOW COUNTY COUNCIL HELD ON MONDAY 16TH JUNE 2025, COMMENCING 2.00 PM IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER AND VIA MICROSOFT TEAMS

PRESENT:

COUNCILLORS P. O'BRIEN CATHAOIRLEACH, D, ALVEY, M. BARRY, J. BEHAN, S. BOURKE, M. CORRIGAN, A. CRONIN, E. DOYLE, M. DUDDY, G. DUNNE, L. FENELON GASKIN, O. FINN, P. FITZGERALD, T. FORTUNE, P. GLENNON, P. KENNEDY, S. LANGRELL, P. LEONARD, P. MAHON, J. MULHALL, M. MURPHY, I. NEARY, D. O'BRIEN, G. O'NEILL, W. O'TOOLE, G. RICHMOND, L. SCOTT, J. SNELL, P. STAPLETON, S. STOKES, N. WHELAN AND C. WINSTANLEY (32)

APOLOGIES

IN ATTENDANCE:

MR. M. NICHOLSON, DEPUTY CHIEF EXECUTIVE

MS. H. PURCELL, A/DIRECTOR OF SERVICES

MR. F KEOGH, A/DIRECTOR OF SERVICES

MR. B. GLEESON, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES

MR. M. DEVEREUX, T/DIRECTOR OF SERVICES

MS. T. O'BRIEN, T/DIRECTOR OF SERVICES

MS. L. HEALY, A/DIRECTOR OF SERVICES

MS. T. BYRNE, ASSISTANT STAFF OFFICER

At the commencement of the meeting a roll call was taken. The Meetings Administrator advised of meetings etiquette for online meetings and that the press and some members of the public were also present.

ITEM NO. 1

Election of the Cathaoirleach (Section 36 of the Local Government Act 2001, as amended)

Prior to calling for nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach, Cllr. P. O'Brien, outgoing Cathaoirleach, said that representing Wicklow County Council has been an honour and privilege of a lifetime. He thanked the Elected Members for their support and hard work throughout the year.

The Elected Members and the Deputy Chief Executive paid tribute to Cllr. O'Brien on the exceptional manner in which he carried out his duties as Cathaoirleach. It was acknowledged that meetings were carried out in a fair manner and that he was always fair, open and approachable.

Cllr. P. O'Brien called for nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach of Wicklow County Council for the forthcoming year.

- 1. Cllr. M. Corrigan was proposed by Cllr. S. Bourke and seconded by Cllr. L. Scott.
- 2. Cllr. J. Snell was proposed by Cllr. G. O'Neill and seconded by Cllr. J. Behan.

Following a roll call Cllr. M. Corrigan was elected as Cathaoirleach of Wicklow County Council by a margin of 22 votes for Cllr. M. Corrigan and 10 votes for Cllr. J. Snell viz:-

CLLR. M. CORRIGAN (22)	CLLRS. D. ALVEY, M. BARRY, S. BOURKE, M. CORRIGAN, A. CRONIN, E. DOYLE, G. DUNNE, L. FENELON GASKIN, P. FITZGERALD, P. GLENNON, P. KENNEDY, S. LANGRELL, P. MAHON, J. MULHALL, M. MURPHY, P. O'BRIEN, G. RICHMOND, L. SCOTT, P. STAPLETON, S. STOKES, N. WHELAN AND C. WINSTANLEY
CLLR. J. SNELL (10)	CLLRS. J. BEHAN, M. DUDDY, O. FINN, T. FORTUNE, P. LEONARD, I. NEARY, D. O'BRIEN, G. O'NEILL, W. O'TOOLE AND J. SNELL

Before calling for nominations for Leas-Cathaoirleach, the newly elected Cathaoirleach addressed the Council.

She thanked the Elected Members in electing her to the position of Cathaoirleach of Wicklow County Council and paid tribute to Cllr. P. O'Brien for his exceptional service to the county during his role as Cathaoirleach over the past year.

ITEM NO. 2

Election of Leas-Cathaoirleach

The Cathaoirleach called for nominations for the position of Leas-Cathaoirleach for the forthcoming year.

- 1. Cllr. C. Winstanley was proposed by Cllr. D. Alvey and seconded by Cllr. P. O'Brien.
- 2. Cllr. J. Snell was proposed by Cllr. G. O'Neill and seconded by Cllr. I. Neary.

Following a roll call Cllr. C. Winstanley was elected as Leas-Cathaoirleach of Wicklow County Council by a margin of 22 votes for Cllr. C. Winstanley and 10 votes for Cllr. J. Snell viz:-

CLLR. C.	CLLRS. D. ALVEY, M. BARRY, S. BOURKE, M. CORRIGAN, A. CRONIN,
WINSTANLEY(22)	E. DOYLE, G. DUNNE, L. FENELON GASKIN, P. FITZGERALD, P.
	GLENNON, P. KENNEDY, S. LANGRELL, P. MAHON, J. MULHALL, M.
	MURPHY, P. O'BRIEN, G. RICHMOND, L. SCOTT, P. STAPLETON, S.

			STOKES, N. WHELAN AND C. WINSTANLEY
CLLR. (10)	J.	SNELL	CLLRS. J. BEHAN, M. DUDDY, O. FINN, T. FORTUNE, P. LEONARD, I. NEARY, D. O'BRIEN, G. O'NEILL, W. O'TOOLE AND J. SNELL

ITEM NO. 3

To agree a schedule of Ordinary/Special meetings for the coming year

It was proposed by Cllr. P O'Brien, seconded by Cllr. P. Kennedy and agreed by all to the schedule of meetings for the coming year as circulated.

THIS CONCLUDED THE BUSINESS OF THE MEETING

CLLR. MELANIE CORRIGAN

CATHAOIRLEACH

WICKLOW COUNTY COUNCIL

MS. HELEN PURCELL

A/DIRECTOR OF SERVICES/

MEETINGS ADMINISTRATOR

Confirmed at meeting of Wicklow County Council held on Monday the 7th July 2025